The Series

RoboTales is a series that my son, Luke, and I have been working on since 2011 when he was in fourth grade. It’s an intermediate chapter book series, specifically for readers ages 7-13 or in grades 3-7. Each book is approximately 100 pages long.

These stories are fractured fairy tales in a science fiction or fantasy setting and follow the journey of Robo the robot dog as he travels through the Upeero Solar System, trying to find out who he is and the mission he was designed for. Readers gather clues in each story to help them find out where Robo will travel to in the next book. Each RoboTales adventure has a theme represented by a motto the main character lives by or learns through the course of the story. The print books also include Robo’s Science Facts, which give a do-it-yourself science experiment that relates to the story. Click here for maps, games, coloring pages, and more.


Tinker (RoboTales, book one)

Tinker (RoboTales, book one)

Authors: ,
Series: RoboTales, Book 1
Genre: Science Fiction
Tinker has always dreamed of attending the Invention Institute where his late father was a teacher. When the school hosts the Recycle Race competition to choose a new apprentice, not only does Tinker hope to win a full scholarship, he believes the Institute can teach him how to fix his robot dog. Tinker must protect his invention from his uncle and cousins, who do everything they can to destroy Tinker’s dream. If you enjoyed “Tinker,” you’ll love book two, “Mardok and the Seven Exiles!” More info →


Mardok and the Seven Exiles (RoboTales, book 2)

Mardok and the Seven Exiles (RoboTales, book 2)

Authors: ,
Series: RoboTales, Book 2
Genre: Science Fiction
Strange things are happening at the Space Force Military Academy. General Gruss believes the Ice Beast is responsible and asks cadet Riv Mardok to hunt down the menace. Mardok, always eager to “protect the helpless,” accepts the quest, but when he finds himself trapped, alone in the forest, his bravery isn’t enough to save him. Mardok has no choice but to call for help. The question is: will anyone answer? More info →
Buy from Barnes and Noble
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Amazon Kindle



The Art

Kirbi Fagan designed the cover for Tinker. She is a talented artist. You can learn more about her here.

The interior illustrations were drawn by students. I’m so impressed with the level of talent these artists have and am blessed that they were willing to submit a drawing for Tinker.

Book one is now available. Subscribe to my ezine to be notified when new books in the series release and if we have an art contest for book two.


RoboFunAdThe Fun

Click here to visit the Robo Fun page, where you can print out Robo’s Clues, games, science experiments, LEGO® instructions to build your own Robo, read sneak peeks at the other books in the series, and more!


Map for the Series

Here is our map for the RoboTales series. Many people know that I’m obsessed with maps, so I had to draw one to go with the RoboTales stories. Each book will take Robo to at least one of the planets in the Upeero System.


Upeero System Map